Health and Medical News and Resources

General interest items edited by Janice Flahiff

[Reblog] The illegal ways patients buy drugs

The illegal ways patients buy drugs.

From the 27 March 2014 KevinMD article by Pamela Wible, MD

Tom is diabetic, asthmatic, and broke. He’s back for a checkup.

“I take my metformin every morning with my grits,” he says, “but I don’t need no refill. I just got me some metformin XR.”

“How did you get extended release? They’re super expensive.”

Screen Shot 2014-05-13 at 5.16.10 AM

“Well, my neighbor runs a tattoo shop. We live behind her store. Her doc switched her up to insulin, so she gave me her old meds—a big sackful in the alley. That’s gonna last me another year.”

Prescriptions dispensed behind a tattoo parlor? Wow. I’m constantly impressed by my patients’ ingenuity. One gal this week told me she’s on her deceased grandfather’s antidepressants. Another gets his pharmaceuticals from the farm supply store. I’m just glad to know he doesn’t have fleas.

“Are you good on your inhalers?” I ask.

“Well, the cheapest inhaler is 52 bucks. So I basically can’t afford to breathe. On Craigslist, I found some for ten bucks. I contacted the guy, and he met me at the Walmart gas station in a black Jaguar. I went to the door. He asked if I was Tom. Then he said, ‘You know this is illegal.’”

…….

And from one of the comments

Considering the high prices that pharmaceutical companies are allowed to legally charge in the US, this kind of thriving illegal underground market does not surprise me at all. It may be wrong and potentially dangerous, but it’s also wrong for Big Pharma to price millions of Americans out of being able to buy the drugs they need legally. Think of that huge segment of the population as “what the market can’t bear.”

Read the entire article here

Enhanced by Zemanta
May 13, 2014 - Posted by | health care | ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

